Sunbury-York South

About Sunbury-York South

Welcome to Sunbury-York South

You are now visiting the Sunbury-York South Rural Community website. We are a new rural community consisting of the former Local Service Districts of New Maryland and Rusagonis- Waasis. Our community borders the community of Hanwell, the Village of New Maryland, the town of Oromocto, and the City of Fredericton as well as bordering the capital region rural district. Our new rural community comprises Nasonworth, Beaverdam, Charters Settlement, Rusagonis, Waasis, and Tracyville.

Sunbury-York South was incorporated as a rural community on January 1st, 2023, with the New Brunswick Regulation 2022-50 under the local governance Act ( O.C. 2022-228).

Sunbury-York South has a population of 7,467 and an area of 236 Square Kilometers consisting of farms, subdivisions, and rural properties. Sunbury-York South has waterways comprised of rivers, streams, and lakes. There are many woodlots.

Sunbury-York South has many businesses, from small home businesses to large companies.